After rewarding Watson and Crick discovery of DNA in 1962, the work of Barbara McClintock in 1983, the identification of the human genome in 2002, stem cells in 2007, and in 2009, the work on the “immortality” of the genome, genomics is once again honored in 2012 with the Nobel Prize in Medicine!


The Nobel Prize in Medicine 2012 was awarded jointly to Sir John B. Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka for their research on stem cells.

The two geneticists were rewarded for their discovery that mature, specialized cells can be reprogrammed to become immature cells capable of developing into all tissues of the body.

Their findings “have revolutionized our understanding of how cells and organisms develop”, notes the Karolinska Institute of Stockholm.

To learn more:

Reminder of the Nobel Prizes related to genomics:

1962 :

1983 :

2002 :


2009 :

2012 :